Integrated Child Development Service (ICDS)

Date : 01/04/2017 - 01/10/2018 | Sector: Social Welfare

Integrated Child Development Service (ICDS) is a flagship programme of the Government of India. It was initiated in 1975 by launching in 33 blocks on the 106th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. In Leh district it was started in the year 1980 with 35 Anganwadi Centres.

Today there are 484 santioned Anganwadi Centres functioning in every villages of Leh district. There are six ICDS Projects in the district which are as under- 

  1. ICDS Project Leh
  2. ICDS Project Nubra
  3. ICDS Project Khaltsi
  4. ICDS ProjectNyoma
  5. ICDS Project Kharu
  6. ICDS Project Durbuk

The beneficiries of ICDS are 

  1. Pregnant ladies
  2. Nursing mothers
  3. Children

The services provided to the beneficiaries by ICDS at the Anganwadi Centres are 

  1. Supplimentary Nutrition.
  2. Helath Checkup
  3. Primary Health care/Referral Services.
  4. Immunization
  5. Nutrition & Health Education
  6. Non-Formal Pre-School Education


Pregnant ladies, Nursing mothers (upto 6 months) and Children (6 months to 6 years)


Pregnant Ladies - 454, Nursing Mother - 772, Children(6 months to 6 years) - 6297 and Pre-School Education(3 to 6 years) - 3652

How To Apply

Please have a visit at the respective ICDS project centres to know about the scheme and how to avail the benefits of the scheme.