The official website of
Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Leh

Spituk Monastery

Photo of Monastery

9 Km from Leh, the monastery standing on a conical hill with 3 chapels was founded in the 11th, century by Od-de the elder brother of Lha Lama Changchub Od, when he came to Maryul. He introduced a monastic community. When Rinchen Zangpo, the translator came to that place he said that an exemplary religious community would arise there and so the monastery was called Spituk (Exemplary). That time it belonged to the Kadampa School. Then during the lifetime of Dharmaraja Tagspa Bum- Lde Lama Lhawang Lotus restored the monastery and the stainless order of Tsongkhapa was introduced and it has remained intact as such up till the present. The Principal statue is that of the lord Buddha. Within this status there is a sacred image of Amitayus, about the finger size, presented to King Tagspa Bum-Lde by the great Tsongkhapa. Every year from the 27th, to 29th, days of the Tibetan 11th, month the sacred dance associated with the festival of the Gustor are held. Stok Monastery, Sankar monastery and Saboo monastery are branches of Spituk Monastery. The incumbents of all these monasteries are the successive reincarnations of Skyabsje Bakula Rinpoche. The monastery belongs to Gelugpa order. There are about 150 monks in the monastery of Spituk